2nd class motor question.

Going through the licensing process ? Have queries, comments, or do you need an answer to that obscure exam question ? This is the place to post.
westcoaster
Bilge Dweller

2nd class motor question.

Post by westcoaster »

Hello guys.

There is an exam question i'm studying that goes something like this. " Sketch and Describe an engine driven lubricating pump for a direct reversing engine" does anyone know of a book with a good drawing of such a pump? or worked on a reversing engine that had an engine driven lube oil pump?

thanks
JollyJack
Fleet Engineer
Currently located: Eastern Canada

Re: 2nd class motor question.

Post by JollyJack »

Never heard of that one. I know of an engine driven mechanical blower for a reversing engine, but every lub pump I sailed with on a reversing engine was electrically driven.
Discourage incest, ban country "music".
JK
Enduring Contributor
Currently located: East Coast, Canada

Post by JK »

see if you can get your hands on a Fairbanks Morris 38 8 1/8 opposed piston engine manual.
The reversible engines have a LO Pump with passages and flaps in the pump that changeover to ensure the flow continues from the suction to the discharge.
I'll have a poke around to see if anyone I know has info.
Actually, the CCGS Tanu has FM engines. Do you know of anyone out there who has access to the CG?

The only ship I can think off hand that actually had them fitted was the CCGS Alert and I think she went to the breaker. I heard a story that the subsequant owners from the CG had engine work done and the repairers didn't know about the flaps and did significant damage to an engine on startup.
westcoaster
Bilge Dweller

Post by westcoaster »

Thanks for the info. I'll dig up a FM OP manual. Maybe a manual from the days of 4 stroke direct reversing engines would have it. Once again I find myself looking for information on equipment that for all practicality, no longer exists.