EMD 645 Blowdown Procedures

A place to exchanges questions and ideas of a technical / procedural nature. Go ahead, try to stomp us !
jbmccormick
Bilge Dweller

EMD 645 Blowdown Procedures

Post by jbmccormick »

Specifically with regard to the blowdown valves after shutdown.

During the cold start procedures, I understand that the blowdown valves are opened, the engine turned over to remove any possible condensate, the valves shut then the motor started normally. When the operation is completed the motor is shut down but no action is taken with regard to the blowdown valves.

The engineer on the vessel has been keeping these blowdown valves open.

My question is whether this is important or not and if it is, is there any citation to a manual or other authority to this respect?

I fully realize that I am not an expert and I am only questioning this because it is different from what I have seen in the past.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards always,

James B. McCormick
Big Pete
Engineering Mentor
Currently located: Solihull, England

Re: EMD 645 Blowdown Procedures

Post by Big Pete »

Good question jbm,

I think what you are calling "Blow Down Valves" are what I would call indicator cocks, fitted for taking peak pressures, power and draw cards etc, as well as for venting any water from the cylinder head caused by condensation or leakage.

The advantages that I can see in leaving the cocks open when the engine is stopped, are that any corrosive gases and moisture left in the cylinder will dissipate, and the engine is ready for a "slow blow" prior to starting.
This has been the normal operating procedure in my experience.

If it becomes neccessary to start the engine in a hurry, because of some emergency, this often done without blowing the engine over. Leaving the cocks open would then delay starting the engine.