Control room air conditioner

A place to exchanges questions and ideas of a technical / procedural nature. Go ahead, try to stomp us !
jrvakil
Deck Plate Wanderer
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:37 am

Control room air conditioner

Postby jrvakil » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:28 pm

Hi all,

I have bought one control room air conditioner to supply on the ship. Now during testing i need to recharge the compressor oil, Manual is quiet about this. I dont want to try anything to loose the gas from condenser or compressor.

Details
Make: Daikin
Type: US3GE

Please helpppp meee

User avatar
The Dieselduck
Administrator
Posts: 2743
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:41 pm
Currently located: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (West Coast of Canada)

Re: Control room air conditioner

Postby The Dieselduck » Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:44 am

Did you do something ! eheheh

Kinda of strange that a new unit would need oil already. Otherwise it may be worth returning, as this is he beginnings of a long arduous relationship. I don't have much experience with AC, just wanted to put that little bit in. I have in the past needed a special pump to top up the oil in the compressor, but this was a good size unit, I am not sure how yours works though. Hope you get some answers...
Martin Leduc
Certified Marine Engineer and Webmaster
Martin's Marine Engineering Page
http://www.dieselduck.net

User avatar
Sébastien
Engineering Mentor
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:06 am
Currently located: Québec

Re: Control room air conditioner

Postby Sébastien » Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:50 am

Hello Jrvakil,
I looked up your model AC unit on the Daikin website and found that it is fitted with a hermetically sealed compressor. This is the same type of compressor fitted on domestic refrigerators, only slightly larger in size and capacity. This type of compressor requires no maintenance for its entire intended life-cycle, not even checking oil level, let alone adding any. This is exactly why the manufacturer does not mention anything about oil except the type used in case of major malfunction. I am curious as to how you determined that the compressor requires adding oil in the first place. As far as I know, the only way this type of packaged system can lose any of its oil is through a leak in the tubing. If this is the case then you no longer have any refrigerant in your system and you have two options. If the unit was not damaged during transit or installation contact your vendor for an exchange under warranty, otherwise you will need for a qualified technician to purge the system of air, find and fix the leak and then add oil and refrigerant.


Return to “The Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 

 

cron