Offshore Banking

General maritime and engineering discussion occurs on this board. Feel free to post newsbits, comments, ask questions about maritime matters and post your opinions.
Oceanmaid
Bilge Dweller

Offshore Banking

Post by Oceanmaid »

Anybody got any experience with this kind of thing?

I have been working internationally for 3 months and have discovered all sorts of issues.
The latest one being a locked bank account due to an international money transfer
and then being required to phone them when its convienient for them,
not me.

So perhaps and international bank account may make my life easier.
Anybody got any recommendations?
Bad experiences?
Things to watch out for?

Thanks a bunch.
JollyJack
Fleet Engineer
Currently located: Eastern Canada

Re: Offshore Banking

Post by JollyJack »

I have banked offshore with Lloyds TSB in the Isle of Man and with Barclays in the Channel Islands. I had a Visa debit card with Lloyds, accessible world wide, no problems at all. Their "Overseas Club" was very helpful whenever I wanted help. On line banking and 24/7 telephone assistance if required.

Barclays, on the other hand, conveniently "lost" a couple of thousand of my pounds. They worked "bankers hours" and would not accept collect calls, the epitome of an arrogant British bank dealing with the "great unwashed".

That's my experience anyway.

Caveat Emptor!
Discourage incest, ban country "music".
The Dieselduck
Administrator
Currently located: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (West Coast of Canada)

Re: Offshore Banking

Post by The Dieselduck »