Supply Boats From Other Countries Operating In Canada

General maritime and engineering discussion occurs on this board. Feel free to post newsbits, comments, ask questions about maritime matters and post your opinions.
Aavenger
Mechanic

Supply Boats From Other Countries Operating In Canada

Post by Aavenger »

Hi
Im an Engineer here on the East Coast Newfoundland to be exact,recently I have seen a proliferation of state of the art AHSTs and other specalized ships from the oil patch
operating in our waters.While I have seen a few ads for A/Bs and motormen at terrific salaries,I have seen no ads for deck officers or engineering officers?Under the Atlantic Accord Canadians should be crewing these vessel and or be trained to.Martin your a terric sleuth put you talents to work and find out whats up.is this being monitored or are they slipping by(as i suspect) Anyone have any comments or info?
Big Pete
Engineering Mentor
Currently located: Solihull, England

Re: Supply Boats From Other Countries Operating In Canada

Post by Big Pete »

Hi Aavenger,

I am sailing as Chief Engineer on a Supply Boat in the North Sea at present, British Flag and the Captains on both shifts are Canadian, the Chief Mate on each shift is British, the Cooks and ABs are British but the rest are a mixture of Poles and Latvians. The management are placing crewing contracts in the Philipines because they cant get enough crew from Europe at the wages they are willing to pay.

BP
It is always better to ask a stupid question than to do a stupid thing.
JollyJack
Fleet Engineer
Currently located: Eastern Canada

Post by JollyJack »