Scavenge air and water mist catcher

General maritime and engineering discussion occurs on this board. Feel free to post newsbits, comments, ask questions about maritime matters and post your opinions.
BjA
Bilge Dweller

Scavenge air and water mist catcher

Post by BjA »

Hi, I am not a seafarer. I am a mechanical engineering student, making a study on scavenge air.

I have no hands-on knowledge of how life is at sea, and how things are controlled in an engine room. Therefore, I have several times come across your site, and have enjoyed the vast knowledge you have about engine rooms. Thanks.
There are several things I have a hard time finding detailed (hands-on) info about. And, I was wondering if some of you would share your knowledge with me.
If you have answers for some of my questions, it would be very helpful if you also mentioned what type engine the info is used for (2 or 4 stroke, slow/medium speed, kW, route + whatever you know matters)
What I’m curious about is:
• How do you control the scavenge air temperature? Do you set the scavenge air temp…or the cooling water temp…or ??
• Do you fix the scavenge air temp at for example 40 degrees celcius, or does it follow the temp. of the seawater (of course some degrees above)
• How often does the water mist catcher extract water? Seldom, most of the time, only under some special conditions (Please note these conditions),… always…?
• Do you know how much water the WMC extracts?
• Is there an upper limit to how much water the WMC can extract per timeunit? Or is it unlimited?
• What temperature-settings are generally used for scavenge air temp?

Thanks a lot for whatever help you can give :)
JollyJack
Fleet Engineer
Currently located: Eastern Canada

Re: Scavenge air and water mist catcher

Post by JollyJack »

Your questions bed questions.