Hello!

General maritime and engineering discussion occurs on this board. Feel free to post newsbits, comments, ask questions about maritime matters and post your opinions.
Grecian
Tanktop Cleaner

Hello!

Post by Grecian »

Afternoon from the other side of the pond (the uk of course). Being new around these here parts I thought I had better introduce myself.

Basically I am new to all this engineering lark, and start my HNC course in September, which I am excited about. This for me is a career change, from ambulance service dispatcher to marine engineer, something of a change I think you will agree.

So excuse me if I am a bit dim in the questions I ask in the future, we all have to start somewhere, and with me it will be with the stupid stuff :wink:
JK
Enduring Contributor
Currently located: East Coast, Canada

Re: Hello!

Post by JK »

Welcome to the Forum and to quote one of the engineers I worked for, there are no stupid questions. If you knew the answer you wouldn't ask.
Big Pete
Engineering Mentor
Currently located: Solihull, England

Post by Big Pete »

Hi Grecian,

Welcome onboard.
As J.K. says, there is no such thing as a stupid question.
Unfortunatly there are plenty of stupid people who DON'T ASK questions.
Where are you studying?
I started Phase 1 in Plymouth in 1971 and did all the rest in South Shields.

BP
It is always better to ask a stupid question than to do a stupid thing.
The Dieselduck
Administrator
Currently located: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (West Coast of Canada)

Welcome

Post by The Dieselduck »

Welcome indeed. Any input you may have, no matter how silly you may feel it is, is probably going to be well received judging from this community past experience. And if you feel they may be too silly for the community at large, you can always send me a "PM" or an email.

Welcome to the journey,
Martin Leduc
Certified Marine Engineer and Webmaster
Martin's Marine Engineering Page
http://www.dieselduck.net
Grecian
Tanktop Cleaner