Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

A place to exchanges questions and ideas of a technical / procedural nature. Go ahead, try to stomp us !
Jameseze24
Tanktop Cleaner
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:41 am
Currently located: UAE

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Jameseze24 »

Yea cast ally, already open some plugs to inspect but nothing is visible, more observations on the filters... If some more of such, then motor will be dismantled for inspection. But I can't figure out what exactly has such metal... Definitely not gears. Maybe leftover during overhauling I guess..
Marine Engineer and editor at Marine and offshore insight.
https://marineandoffshoreinsight.com/

User avatar
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:19 am
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Merlyn »

Well all that's left to say is I wish you all the very best with the Holding of the breath syndrome and keep going alongside V the dropping of the hook.
Won't swop your imminent job of those chain blocks use age to get the hook up though.
Handraulic.
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.

User avatar
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:19 am
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Merlyn »

How big is the Casting lump?
Is it big enough to sixteenth drill it for a necklace jobby?
Will it take small letter punches stating S.O.S?
Shit on Seat.
Souvenir jobby.
Is it a coarse grain casting like a cover casting?
Or is it closegrain like a piston ring?
There is more to do here whilst waiting for the Big Bang.
Could it be an advert for superglue?
What do you think?
So many unanswered questions which need to be answered in order to further our careers.
What will come thro' the casing first?
Gallons of oil followed closely by what?
Will it be pensioned off and the other ones hours doubled up?
Watch this space.
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.

User avatar
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:19 am
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Merlyn »

Just looking in my drill box and wondering what size crack arrester hole to drill when the cover starts swelling?
Any body?
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.

User avatar
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:19 am
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Merlyn »

P.S.
Answer in imperial please as I was always taught that was the better type of Crack Arrester Hole drilling one could drill.
( Not Micky Mouse holes)
I.e.,
Metric foreign holes.
( M.M.)
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.

Jameseze24
Tanktop Cleaner
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:41 am
Currently located: UAE

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Jameseze24 »

Lol, well still can't understand your question about hole and drilling. How do you mean?
Marine Engineer and editor at Marine and offshore insight.
https://marineandoffshoreinsight.com/

User avatar
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:19 am
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Windlass not taking load on my ship, ideas to fix it

Post by Merlyn »

Crack Arrester Hole drilling.
When it lets go the internal gear may well be driven into the casing causing a hairline crack, a bulge or worst still a hole.
Should it be a crack by drilling a crack arrester hole the damage could well be limited.
My point was that an imperial drill always did a better repair than a metric one.
There is a reason for this.
A left or right handed drill can be used for this type of repair.
Bit like throwing a rod out the side syndrome.
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.

Post Reply