no sump alarms fitted to auxy gens on cross channel RORO

A place to exchanges questions and ideas of a technical / procedural nature. Go ahead, try to stomp us !
boatymcboatface
Bilge Dweller
Currently located: england

no sump alarms fitted to auxy gens on cross channel RORO

Post by boatymcboatface »

firstly hi im new

Im a new 3rd engineer on an aging cross channel 30000 GRT RORO that for obvious reasons shall stay nameless and one of the first things that has stuck me that kind of beggars belief is that none of the 4 sulzer 1500kw auxy generators have low level sump alarms fitted.

I asked the chief about it and apparently it isnt required by class, only low lub oil pressure and sure enough i checked and that is correct.

I mean your car will pass an MOT without a sump alarm, but would you drive round without one??

wondering in my head now what the MCA would have to say about this lol
The Dieselduck
Administrator
Currently located: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (West Coast of Canada)

Re: no sump alarms fitted to auxy gens on cross channel RORO

Post by The Dieselduck »

Level and pressure are two different things.

Pressure is certainly a critical alarm, hence most have a shut down attached to it. While Level is more of a convenience. I find level sensors / alarms to be somewhat unreliable, and i hate it that my BMW doesn't have a dipstick. I personally like to see the level, feel the oil, smell it; it can tell you lots.

But I think its important to make sure this alarm is set as a convenience, not as a protective device. The Viking Sky incident comes to mind, the cruise ship off Norway, where this became a major issue, in rough seas in combination with established onboard protocols, all main engines shut down to low
level, and could not be restarted, massive evacuation was undertaken. Now it wasn't for low level per se, but I can imagine a layer of complexity is not desirable.

https://safety4sea.com/engine-lubricati ... ujcnBszQg9
Martin Leduc