Aalborg Auxiliary Boilers leaking water into drum

A place to exchanges questions and ideas of a technical / procedural nature. Go ahead, try to stomp us !
Ufok
Bilge Dweller
Currently located: Poland

Aalborg Auxiliary Boilers leaking water into drum

Post by Ufok »

Good Day!

I work as a 3rd Engineer onboard a DFDE LNG carrier equipped with 4 exhaust gas economizers and 2 auxiliary boilers. After joining the vessel, I noticed that despite complete isolation of the main feed water inlet valves (4 valves for each boiler), auxiliary feed water valves (2 valves), warming steam (1 valve) and condensate inlet from economizers to aux boilers (2 valves) the boilers are still gaining water. For the Port boiler about 5 cm per day, Stbd even 50 cm per day. The economizers are at 11 bar pressure, working boiler at 10.2 and the completely isolated boiler, even with warming steam shut, goes up to 7.8 bar and stops gaining pressure, but the water level keeps on rising

I suspect that the condensate inlet valves, going from the economizers into the boilers are all passing, but it might also be the auxiliary feed water line. The main feed has 3 globe valves and 1 automatic valve, I doubt all 4 valves for one boiler would be passing.

Has anyone encountered a similar issue?
To troubleshoot this properly I would need to shutdown the whole steam plant and the vessel schedule does not allow that for now.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Merlyn
Fleet Engineer
Currently located: South Coast UK

Re: Aalborg Auxiliary Boilers leaking water into drum

Post by Merlyn »

Test points?
Test kits?
Remembering The Good Old days, when Chiefs stood watches and all Torque settings were F.T.
Ufok
Bilge Dweller
Currently located: Poland

Post by Ufok »

No way any test points are leaking into the boiler. The only dosing tank is 50 liters, has to be manually started and doses around 30 liters par day, way less than the boilers are gaining in water level per day.
popeye62
Officer of the Watch